Day 6- Character Building Experience

He stuttered with excitement whenever it came down to music. At the age of 74 you never met a man so full of life. My papa (grandpa for short). Is definitely my hero and by far the most interesting person I’ve ever met in my life.

He’s a mechanic and self proclaimed muscian which is probably where I get my itch for the blues from. Watching him stomp his foot with his headphones plugged in howling at the top of his lungs to god knows what. I could see the Jackie Wilson, Marvin Gaye, Otis Redding, and Chuck Berry in his eyes. He loves music which is a dream that’ll never die.

I wonder at what age did he begin to sprout out like a tree? Bending through doorways he kind of reminded me of the scene in Pillow Talk where Rock Hudson was too big for the car. He has a smile that the only way I can describe it to you is everytime I watch It’s A Wonderful Life with my mom is “Papa reminds me of James Stewart.”

The day he got me into guitar lessons was like the day he passed down his legacy. My siblings and I musically inclined because to us he was the godfather of rock. Moonwalking across the kitchen floor in his work boots so smooth you could tell he was a rhythmic man. As stubborn as a nail stuck in a piece of wood but the energy of his love flows through you as soon as you come into direct contact with his aura. His words of wisdom can bring you back to a time when he was just a young boy on the farm.¬† Or at least that’s how I imagined it when he talks about his childhood.

He had the hands of a warrior and a never quitting man. The story of the time he had to quit school in 4th grade and go to work always motivated me because he went back to school when he was in his 60s. He taught hisself how to read and write along the way that’s how he became a mechanic and musician . My papa is seriously the most fearless, courageous, and go getting man I know. The wrinkles just show a new wave of growth. And everytime I see him is just a reminder to never give up on my dreams. Did I forget to mention he’s 74 and is still forming his jazz band.

Leave a Reply

