Day 7- Give and Take

I had just finished watching Another Woman which is a film by Woody Allen he always tends to leave me in a state of aw and disbelief whenever one of his movie’s come to a close just as this particular one did. The character Marion found herself lost by the end of the movie and facing divorce. The movie was great from beginning to end but there was one scene that specifically grabbed me.

Marion went to see her father and she was going through some old pictures which landed her to finding some of her mothers poetry, it was actually Rainer Maria Rilke a Bohemian-Austrian poet and she went on about how Archaic Torso of Apollo was her mothers favorite poem so I stopped the movie and read the poem and some of his other work I was deeply moved and impressed. After doing so this brought me to checking out some of my favorite poets such as Sylvia Plath and William Wordsworth.

I tend go back and forth a lot with myself which is probably how I got to this conclusion….

A conversation I had with myself a couple hours ago :

Wow… So I didn’t even know that the film Splendor in the Grass was a depiction of Wordsworth’s poem Splendor in the Grass. I mean now that I actually sit and think about it it actually makes perfect sense! It’s crazy I never thought about it til now.

Runs movie through my mind: Deanie (Natalie Wood) is deeply infatuated with Bud (Warren Beatty) in the film and when he ends the relationship with her because he listened to his dad this put her into a deep shock and led her to having a mental breakdown and having to stay at a mental institution for awhile. Bud then goes to Yale where he is flunking out and carries on this careless behavior where he meets Angelina (who will become his wife in the end).

I’ll say that she gave him strength when he needed it the most. Deanie ends up getting proper treatment and is later released so as a test for herself she goes to see Bud (this is years later they are adults). He is married and has a son and another one on the way and Deanie is engaged and will be moving away in a short while.

I think after Deanie sees Bud and sees his family and all maybe she is taken back a bit but in a way she is very happy for him. So after that scene she gets in the car with her friend and her friend asks her if she’s over Bud and the poem starts running through her head.

The poem:

What though the radiance which was once so bright

Be now forever taken from my sight

Though nothing can bring back the hour

Of splendor in the grass, of glory in the flower;

We will grieve not, rather find

Strength in what remains behind

Back to my conclusion the poem breaks down Deanie’s meltdown to her becoming well again and finding strength in her past.

One thought on “Day 7- Give and Take

  1. I love Rainer Maria Rilke! A friend of mine told me that my translation is very poor, however. Now I read with the German-English dictionary on the table. Oskar Werner did some fabulous recordings of his poems. So happy you found him!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

