Day 9- POV

A man and woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene.

Today’s twist: Write the scene from the perspective of the man, then the woman, and finally the old woman.

Holding hands with my beloved as we walked through the park our usual route on our way home something strange happened. There was a very old woman sitting on the bench knitting a small red sweater and before I knew it tears begin to fill my eyes. I could hear my wife’s voice in the background as I dropped to my knees. Janice knelt down next to me and asked me what was wrong. I had a flashback to the day before my mom abandoned my dad, younger brother, and I during my childhood. My mother owned a boutique and she loved to knit, sew, and make clothes. The red sweater the woman was knitting slightly resembled the one my mother knitted for me years ago. The texture it all seemed so surreal. I tried to put every memory of my mother to the back of my mind until today when the realization that she was not a figment of my imagination that in fact she was actually real at one point in my life. I didn’t know what to do. All the pain, rage, and hatred I had for her for abandoning us overwhelmed me and that’s all I remember.

Tim! Tim! Timmmm! Wake up honey 

I wasn’t quite sure as to what was happening one minute we were laughing, holding hands, and he was perfectly fine and then all of a sudden Tim passed out. He had a horrid look on his face when I pointed to the old woman knitting the red sweater on the bench.

Do you know what could of caused him to faint ma’am?

No I don’t like I mentioned before one minute everything was completely normal the next thing I know he collapsed on the ground. 

Well it seems that he’s regained consciousness maybe we can get some more questions after talking to the old woman.

In a very frantic state the old woman begin to answer the questions.

I don’t understand what happened. I saw a beautiful couple walking through the park laughing holding hands all into one another and the next thing I know the man collapsed on the ground and the woman was yelling out the man’s name trying to get him to wake up. I hopped up and walked over there as fast as I could but he wasn’t responding and that’s when his wife dialed 9-1-1 while I waited with him to see if he would wake up.

Tim sitting up in the ambulance seeming a little distant as the police officer and his wife begin to ask him questions. He went on and told the police officer that everything was fine and if they could have a ride home. The police officer accepted and the woman and man headed home.

Janice my mother knitted me a red sweater just like the one the old woman in the park was knitting today. I tried to control myself but I just couldn’t.

Oh it’s okay sweetie, it’s okay. That’s in the past now and that’ll never happen to our family.

10 thoughts on “Day 9- POV

  1. I like it. It a cool how you set it up! 🙂 I also enjoy the dilemma of the poor man :\ his mother was a bad women. :(. Something I would suggest changing is one word. “The police officer ACCEPTED..” should be past tense because the line before that was pass tense 🙂
    Over all it was really good doll 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

