Day 15- Your voice will find you

Honestly… this was kind of tough. If they were to take underground hip-hop away I’d probably be screwed for eternity. I’ve always been the girl who kept to herself. Not really popular, not really talkative, just really to myself a lot. And in this generation people automatically assume if you’re not hanging with the out crowd something is wrong with you. And you know what?

I think most people in my generation are a bunch of phonies. They’re so caught up in image they don’t even know how to be themselves. And it’s really annoying when you look out and barely see anyone being who they truly are. Most of them don’t even know who they are. I mean I don’t know who I am but what I do know is that I’m not trying to be like everyone else that I see. This is how I see myself : trying to find myself in a world filled with clones. Don’t get me wrong I know a lot of people who can and are themselves but with social media it’s looking a little rare. (I haven’t lost hope yet!)

Now with underground hip-hop artists I come to find out when I listen to their lyrics they’re kids just like me. Didn’t really fit in, an outcast but they are pure and they have a pure message they want to get across. It’s meaning and stories in what they’re saying, it’s inspirational. Unlike the bullshit they play on the radio :/ I absolutely hate mainstream hip-hop. It’s terrible and there’s no message.

So the way I see it is if there’s no message then what’s the point of listening to it? Music means a lot to me and I’d be compeletely lost without it. I’m a dreamer I don’t take much in this world serious except good writing, art, and a message that will stick. All of that other stuff in life that we take or deem so serious is truly irrelevant to me at this point. This actually felt good.

8 thoughts on “Day 15- Your voice will find you

  1. I really enjoyed reading your voice coming through on this piece! I completely agree with your sentiments about the people in today’s society – everyone is trying so hard to impress that they’d happily pretend to be something they’re not in order to make others like them. Lame! Good on you for realizing and stepping away from that 😉 Also, underground hip hop is awesome!

    Like

  2. This was amazing! I totally emphasize with your writing, and for the most part I dislike mainstream hip hop, apart from Eminem, but the rest of it has meaningless lyrics, obsessed with money, women, and status, with very misogynist lyrics. You make a very good observation, and once one feels this way it is difficult to even listen to mainstream hip hop.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

